Awards & Honors

The American Institute for Conservation awards members and other supporting professionals for outstanding and distinguished contributions to the field of conservation.

  • The nomination deadline for all awards, with the exception of the CAA-AIC joint award, is December 15. The CAA-AIC joint award deadline is August 31. 
  • Current members of AIC's Board of Directors are not eligible to be nominated for an award.


Sheldon and Caroline Keck Award

For excellence in the education and training of conservation professionals.

Read more

Rutherford John Gettens Merit Award

For outstanding service to the American Institute for Conservation (AIC).

Read more

Feller Lifetime Achievement Award

For exceptional contributions to the conservation profession throughout one’s career

Read more

Publication Award

For excellence in an article or book on conservation

Read more

President's Award

For exceptional performance in the profession of conservation; given by the President of AIC. 

Read more

Honorary Membership

For outstanding contributions to the field of conservation

Read more

Allied Professionals Special Recognition

For the advancement of the conservation profession by professionals in other fields.

Read more

Forbes Medal

For distinguished contribution to the field of conservation.

Read more

Paintings Award

For outstanding contributions to the field of paintings conservation.

Read more

David Magoon-University Products Conservation Advocacy Award 

For conservation professionals who have advanced the field of conservation and furthered the cause of conservation through substantial efforts in outreach and advocacy.

Read more

CAA/AIC Award for Distinction in Scholarship and Conservation

For those who have enhanced understanding of art through the application of knowledge and experience in conservation, art history, and art.

Read more

Textiles Award

For outstanding contributions to the field of textiles conservation.

Read more

Fellow Election

For professional members who have maintained an exemplary record in the field for 10 or more years

Read more


Ross Merrill Preservation Award

For organizations that have been exemplary in the importance and priority they have given to conservation concerns and in the commitment they have shown to the preservation and care of their cultural property.

Read more

Distinguished Award for Advancement of the Field of Conservation

For vital and long-standing support of professional development for conservators by an institution.

Read more