Recognize Your Colleagues: Nominate Them For an Award

Review the variety of awards listed below that are presented by AIC to members and other supporting professionals for outstanding and distinguished contributions to the field of conservation.

  • Institutions can by honored by either the Ross Merrill Award for Outstanding Commitment to the Preservation and Care of Collections, formerly a joint award with Heritage Preservation, or the Distinguished Award for Advancement of the Field of Conservation.
  • Current members of AIC's Board of Directors are not eligible to be nominated for an award.
  • The nomination deadline for all awards, with the exception of the CAA-AIC joint award, is December 15. The CAA-AIC joint award deadline is August 31. 

Photo: Martin Burke presents the Sheldon & Caroline Keck Award to Terry Drayman Weisser at the 2008 meeting.

See also Awards Committee. Email them with questions at

Share this page: 

For Individuals

Sheldon and Caroline Keck Award

For excellence in the education and training of conservation professionals.

View more

Rutherford John Gettens Merit Award

For outstanding service to the American Institute for Conservation (AIC).

View more

Allied Professionals Special Recognition

For the advancement of the conservation profession by professionals in other fields.

View more

President's Award

For exceptional performance in the profession of conservation; given by the President of AIC. 

View more

Robert L. Feller Lifetime Achievement Award

For exceptional contributions to the conservation profession throughout one’s career.

View more

Publication Award

For excellence in an article or book on conservation

View more

David Magoon-University Products Conservation Advocacy Award 

UniversityProducts-logoFor the accomplishments and contributions of conservation professionals who, through substantial efforts in outreach and advocacy, have advanced the field of conservation and furthered the cause of conservation.

View more

Honorary Membership

For outstanding contributions to the field of conservation.

View more

Forbes Medal

For distinguished contribution to the field of conservation.

View more

CAA/AIC Award for Distinction in Scholarship and Conservation

Recognizes outstanding contributions by those who have enhanced understanding of art through the application of knowledge and experience in conservation, art history, and art.

View more

For Organizations

Ross Merrill Preservation Award

For organizations that have been exemplary in the importance and priority they have given to conservation concerns and in the commitment they have shown to the preservation and care of their cultural property.

View more

Distinguished Award for Advancement of the Field of Conservation

For vital and long-standing support of professional development for conservators by an institution.

View more

For Specialties

Paintings Award

For outstanding contributions to the field of paintings conservation.

View more

Textiles Award

For outstanding contributions to the field of textiles conservation.

View more