Collaborative Workshops in Photograph Conservation

This series of workshops was initiated by Debra Hess Norris and Nora Kennedy in 1997, with funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. In 2009, the program became part of the FAIC professional development program, under an endowment grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Endowment earnings are used to create three workshops every two years, typically with two hands-on workshops for smaller groups and one lecture-based workshop geared toward a larger audience. The primary goal of the workshops is to address emerging needs in the field of photograph conservation, including the characterization and study of traditional photographic processes as well as the preservation and identification of digital prints and other new media.

The Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee is charged with the conception and planning of workshops on topics of interest to the Photographic Materials Group (PMG) membership and to the photograph preservation community at large.

The Advisory Committee is charged to:
  • Survey the membership for topics of interest for future workshops
  • Reach out to potential workshop organizers and venues
  • Assist in conceiving and designing workshops
  • Hold regular calls to support the development of workshops
  • Regularly report their activity to the membership through AIC News and at PMG Business Meetings

Current Members

Saori Lewis (elected 2018)
Alisha Chipman (elected 2018)
Molly Gleeson (Board Liaison 2017)
Krista Lough (elected 2017)
Margaret Wessling (elected 2017)
Tania Passafiume (elected 2014)
Millard Schisler (elected 2014)
Monique Fischer (elected 2013)
Nora Kennedy (appointed 2009)

Sarah Saetren (FAIC Staff Liaison)

Previous Members

Theresa Andrews (2013-2018)
Luisa Casella (2012-2018)
Stephanie Lussier (Board Liasion 2011-2017)
Debra Hess Norris (2009-2017)
Sylvie Penichon (2009-2014)
Paul Messier (2009-2013)
Martin Juergens (2009-2012)
Karen L. Pavelka (Board Liaison 2009-2011)

SACI Florence